Judges 17 – ESV

 [17:1] There was a man of the hill country of Ephraim, whose name was Micah. [2] And he said to his mother, “The 1,100 pieces of silver that were taken from you, about which you uttered a curse, and also spoke it in my ears, behold, the silver is with me; I took it.” And his mother said, “Blessed be my son by the LORD.” [3] And he restored the 1,100 pieces of silver to his mother. And his mother said, “I dedicate the silver to the LORD from my hand for my son, to make a carved image and a metal image. Now therefore I will restore it to you.” [4] So when he restored the money to his mother, his mother took 200 pieces of silver and gave it to the silversmith, who made it into a carved image and a metal image. And it was in the house of Micah. [5] And the man Micah had a shrine, and he made an ephod and household gods, and ordained one of his sons, who became his priest. [6] In those days there was no king in Israel. Everyone did what was right in his own eyes.
 [7] Now there was a young man of Bethlehem in Judah, of the family of Judah, who was a Levite, and he sojourned there. [8] And the man departed from the town of Bethlehem in Judah to sojourn where he could find a place. And as he journeyed, he came to the hill country of Ephraim to the house of Micah. [9] And Micah said to him, “Where do you come from?” And he said to him, “I am a Levite of Bethlehem in Judah, and I am going to sojourn where I may find a place.” [10] And Micah said to him, “Stay with me, and be to me a father and a priest, and I will give you ten pieces of silver a year and a suit of clothes and your living.” And the Levite went in. [11] And the Levite was content to dwell with the man, and the young man became to him like one of his sons. [12] And Micah ordained the Levite, and the young man became his priest, and was in the house of Micah. [13] Then Micah said, “Now I know that the LORD will prosper me, because I have a Levite as priest.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Judges 17 – ESV

  1. Dan Chapman says:

    “Everyone did what was right in his own eyes.”

    This sums up this chapter. Decisions were based on broken moral compasses. Not only were their decisions bad, they could not even follow through with their bad decisions. Micah’s mother said she would “wholly dedicate” 1100 pieces of silver to the LORD; but then she dedicates only 200 pieces, to other gods. Micah asks the Levite to become a father to him; but instead the Levite becomes like one of his sons. What a mess.

  2. Tami McBryde says:

    And Micah ordained the Levite, and the young man became his priest, and was in the house of Micah. Then Micah said, “Now I know that the LORD will prosper me, because I have a Levite as priest.”

    Lord God, please help me to not ordain people and things in my life to be my way to You, keep me from giving a home to anything – anything which ignorantly or rebelliously – sets itself up (oh You forbid, that I would empower the poser) to be my religion, my “faith” … as I recognize the despicable spirit behind such acts. LORD God Almighty, please keep my expectations on You and Your words and not on anything I may do or not.

    And as this passage screams at me: Micah ordained his own priest, who welcomed this man in his own house, who paid compensation according to his own contract, who expected You to prosper his own self because he had acquired his own Levite. Micah is the god, he defined the way to You and established his own religious protocols – ignoring Your well-established words. YIKES, my Lord, please keep me from this abominable insanity. You, Jesus, are the only way.. You set up and depose kings as You please, You planned the Cross, You executed the Cross, You triumphed at the Cross and You give this to me. I thank You. You have already prospered me. I praise You.

Leave a Reply

